The Scuola Grande di San Rocco is a confraternity founded in 1478. The cult of St. Roch, was then so popular, remains of the saint were under the ownership of their Brotherhood since 1485. It led to its immediate expansion resulting in being known as the most influential Scuola of the town.
A new headquarters was monumental and participated by Tintoretto, by decorating it with illustrated episodes from the Old and New Testaments. Only the new headquarters of Scuole Grandi survived the collapse of the republic.
Over 60 paintings are maintained on original setting from their construction with merely minimal modifications.
Nowadays, the confraternity is still actively seeking artistic patrimony and adhering to its conventional charitable duties.
The building was the chair of a confraternity based in 1478. It was named after San Rocco who was a protector against the plague and became very popular in that era. The Confraternity of “St. Roch” had wealthy Venetians sign up for it. The site they chose for their construction is adjacent to San Rocco Church that housed the remains of the said saint.
Though some authorities assign it back in January 1515, the construction was given to Bartolomeo Bon. Antonio Scarpagnino then continued his work three years after. When he died in 1549, Giangiacomo dei Grigi, worked on the architecture and edifice which has been completed in September 1560.
The layout was akin to some of Venice Scuole having two halls in just one level. Sala Terra has two aisles and a nave and is an entrance from the outside of the campo. A grand stair connects it to the upper story. The Sala Superiore in the second level was utilized as a meeting hall of their fellows, an old wooden altar can also be found there. It provides entry to the Sala dell’Albergo, a place for the Zonta and the Banca or the confraternity’s supervisory boards.
Paintings from the Scuola Grande di San Rocco
The Scuola Grande di San Rocco was quite popular for its patron saint who has offered protection from the jolt. The guild, devoted to San Rocco of Montpellier who expired in Piacenza in 1327 and whose remains are considered to have been brought in 1485 to Venice, was then recognized in 1478.
The Scuola’s headquarters was built after the transfers. The construction was begun in 1517 and was only completed in 1560. Jacopo Tintoretto started his stunning pictorial decorations of their chambers. This work took him until 1588, it represents one of the most fascinating pictorial undertakings ever known in 1564 to 1567. The famous canvases around the ceiling and across the walls of the Sala dell’Albergo as well as the altarpiece is a mesmerizing view for art enthusiasts.
The artistic Tintoretto paintings of Scuola Grande di San Rocco are one of the most prestigious creations of the Italian master. Restoring these state of the art pieces is a considerable achievement for WMF. It poses a chance for some Renaissance and Venetian history scholars to delve in the artistic practices and creations during that era. The work of WMF enables viewers to enjoy the paintings within their own form and gives them a full understanding of such works. The creations of Venetian artists, painters and experts are still preserved and some exquisite pieces remained untouched.
Address: Campo San Rocco, 3052, 30125 San Polo, Venezia VE, Italy
Hours: Open now · 9:30AM–5:30PM
Telephone: +39 041 523 4864
Province: Province of Venice
Site: Scuola Grande di San Rocco